Detroit Hip Hop Meets Cleveland Hip Hop, Razer – Part 1

Man, do I have a killer midwest hip hop story for you!  Acting in this play has been eating up most of my time, so I’m gonna have to break this story into parts.

The day after my last post,  Razer was working again.  I walked right into the store and called out, “What’s up Razer”? Right when he turned around, my boy snapped a pic.  I think that this time he knew the gig was up, and I think he was possibly a bit embarrassed as the other guys at work were like “uhhhh wtf?!”

I started into to him with the questions immediately. “What the hell!?”  I said.  “What happened to you?  Where have you been, and why didn’t you say anything when I told you what I was doing?  Come on, Detroit Hip Hop at it’s finest is here in Cleveland, and you’re not going to say a word when I tell you about my hip hop dreams?

“I’m retired from hip hop,” He said. “Rapping is in my past.”

“Your past my ass! Why were you with Matisyahu at HOB?  Hmmmm?” I challenged him. “Plus it’s in you, you can’t just walk away from your calling. Hip hop is who you are, and you just can’t change who you are, especially when you just started picking up steam.”

He avoided my prying with “I wasn’t hanging out with Matisyahu, I was just there that night.” (Right, that’s why you came from back stage); and “I’m really not interested in picking up the mic again.”

Why not?”  I asked.

He then turns to the boss and asks to take a break so we can walk around and discuss this whole thing.  He lit up a cigar as we walked out. “I don’t usually smoke but a few times a year a really nice cigar crosses my path and, well, I indulge.  You don’t mind do you?”

“Of course not. You don’t mind if my boy nabs a few pics do you…for my blog, do you?”     “Uhhh, I guess not as long as I see what you’re doing with them first.”

And that was that, we ended up talking for about 15 minutes, most of it him saying that he really isn’t into that whole scene these days and trying to avoid my questions.  But I was persistent and refused to take no for an answer.  I’m going to find out the truth behind this Detroit Hip Hop emcee one way or another.  Then I’m going to do anything in my power to un-retire (Is that a word?) this supposedly retired underground rapper.  Cleveland and Detroit hip hop will unite damnit!

I got him to the point where he sighed and said, “Look, meet me after I get off work, and we can talk some more.”

And that my friends is where this hip hop story gets interesting.

So, you wanna do me a big favor? I’m leaking Razer’s Twitter account he gave me the other day. It’s @Razer_theRZR. Go bug the hell out of him to start rapping again…Just don’t tell him I sent you.

Unfortunately for now I really got to run. I’m exhausted from this weekend’s round of performances. (Side note: Isn’t it weird how once you’re name starts appearing in the papers as an up-and-coming actor, all the people you never got along with in the past decides to suddenly pick up the phone and want to talk to you? My uncle literally called looking for me…Apparently, he saw one of my acting reviews in the paper, and he wants to be my manager now. I guess this fakeness just goes with the territory, huh? Everyone wants a piece of the pie when someone’s onto something big.)

So without further adieu, here’s a shot Razer and me to prove that I am not a total moron, and he really does look different that how I remembered him.  If you still don’t believe me, then compare it to Razer’s MySpace pic. After you see that one, you really can’t blame me for not putting two and two together.

Prophet and Razer

Prophet and Razer

Oh yeah, and remember how I said I was working on getting some of my free styling stuff up on my MySpace page? Well, it’s finally up! I put a couple of my free styling sessions from when I was on the Rusty Munchyz Show awhile back.

Check them out here: http://www.myspace.com/prophettherebelofficial. Let me know what you think about them too! I need some comment love on the blog!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

