Be You

Another change in my life recently occurred.  I have a bad back, a really bad back that got messed up in a sparring match back in the days. Probably due to my work and finished off by moving my furniture, my back has literally become a pain in the ass.  So much so that although I loved my last job, I had to move on.  Bouncers with bad backs don’t last long.   I decided to pick up a job surrounding myself with something else I love…video games! A friend of mine was working at Gamestop and got me a job there, and it’s been great so far.  Well the job is great, the waiting at a freezing ass bus stop is not so much.  The thing is, even though I moved on a bit, the free stylin battles from my old gig followed me to my new one.

Last night, an old friend came to visit me and brought his cousin, a man who quote “was a real emcee.”  He heard Prophet on the radio and you guessed it, wanted to battle me.  I asked my boss if I could step outside for a second, and we were off.  He was good, real good actually. But in the end, I won.  He told me how great I was and asked me if I had any tips, which was a first for me.  Most people aren’t that respectful.  I thought about it and realized that I did have some advice.

I told him “Be you!”

“What do you mean?” he asked.

“I mean be you!” I said. If there is one thing I have learned recently, it is that you need to be true to yourself, truly be you.  “Look, you got skills man, but I can tell your trying to be a cross of Lil Wayne & Soulja Boy.  And when I look at you, your clothes, the way you talk, its obvious that that just isn’t you.” I continued. “Either you’re posing in your dress, or you’re posing in your rapping style, and I am betting it’s the rapping style you’re copying.  I get it. Those guys are big, and it’s easy to emulate whats on the radio…what your friends like, trying to please everyone but yourself…But that kind of a lifestyle can lead you down a dangerous path. Trust me, I’ve been down that path, and it ain’t pretty. You end up losing the ones you love and hurting yourself.

As those words came out of my mouth, I realized that I wasn’t following my own advice.  Yeah, I have come a long way from my days of acting like a thug, but here I was rapping with the Alumni Elite about guns, drugs, bitches and real life.  The only one of those topics that was “me” was the real life part.  I decided right then and there that whether my crew likes it or not, I need to branch out musically and do what feels right. I don’t care if the streets or the underground or the radio like it or not.  When I am me, that’s when people gravitate towards me. So you’ve heard it right here right now. It’s time to really be me, a nonconforming, undefinable punk in every sense of the word.

2 Comments

  1. I’m proud of you Prophet! Seriously, I really am. You’re definitely going to go places!

  2. Thanks, Sarcastica! At least I know I’ve got one fan! Ha!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

