The Big Change: A Three Step Program

My last post ended with a bit of a cliff-hanger, so let me fill in the gaps.  The past few weeks I have been thinking about some BIG changes, and I made the final decision to go through with them right before my most recent date with Sara.  What where the changes?  Mainly, shed some of my bills, so I can put all my money into this hip hop dream. I decided to go through with this bill eradication process at the exact same time that I found out my girl, Sara, has been cheating on me.

Step1: Reduce my living expenses
So it’s time to put my money where my mouth is, out with the comfy suburban crib, hello functional downtown apartment with much lower rent.  It will put me closer to Chemist, and the rest of the guys so we can work on hip hop,  and it will let me devote my cash to the project.  Clearly, this decision has been the source of a lot of tension between Sara and me over the past few days, but I tried to get her to see the big picture.  My mom’s also not a big fan of the neighborhood but hey, it’s near school or at least closer, and it’s cheap. Plus, it’s not like it’ll ever be as bad as when I lived in the D.T.W.

Step 2:  Drain my Savings
Okay bad idea I know, but there is a difference between saying you want something and truly going for it.  So I took out my savings, and I am shopping around for equipment.  I’m also saving some of it to book quality studio time.  (I did make one one stupid purchase, but let’s not talk about it.)

Step 3: Confront My Girl
I hate to think about how I found out my girl’s probably cheating, but I might as well tackle everything all at once, right? I’m going to confront Sara this weekend, and I’ll let you all know how things go.  Right now I think I’ll just tell her what I saw, and ask what’s going on.  Let her explain from there.  If I am lucky I’ll find out nothing happened yet, and I called her out just in time. In the meantime, I’d love to hear suggestions. Keep them coming!

And that about sums up my crappy week.  My life is starting to feel like a roller coaster ride.  I should get my friend to build me a graph for this blog so I can visually track my progress on this crazy road to hip hop stardom.  Alright, I’m out for today.  I got to get ready to face what I have been avoiding.

3 Comments

  1. I hope that Sara has a damn good explaination; no offense, but I don’t like the whole “love you call me when he’s gone” text. You deserve so much better than that 😦

    Honestly? I can’t see why anyone would be disappointed in you for withdrawing your savings and shopping around for equipment…we’re told our whole lifes to follow our dreams, up until it’s time to follow them…then we’re told “think practical” and I think that’s bull. Follow you dreams, even if it means not thinking “practical”. This is something you really want to do, and if you don’t do it you’ll regret it one day. So I’m VERY glad you’re doing it!

    And the apartment thing? Cheaper is better in today’s economy anyway! 😉 I’m living in my fiancee’s parents basement, glamorous eh?

  2. For real, you are so right about following your dreams (as long as it’s “practical”). It was so inspiring for me to read that. It feels good to know that at least one other person is this world knows what I’m talking about!

    And as far as cheap living goes, sounds like your plan is even better than mine! LOL!

  3. Heh, ya 😛 I’m glad it was inspiring!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

