School is Kicking my Hip Hop Ars & Procrastinating Doesn’t Help

I started college for anthropology, but decided to focus more on the theater department.  I love the stage and feel drawn to performing.  Maybe it’s an escape for me, maybe it’s a way to express all the things built up inside. Whatever it is I connect with acting.

I just snagged a part, and preparing for opening night is a lot harder than I thought it would be. Between anthropology classes (yes I’m still studying it), working, writing for Alumni Elites and acting, it seems like there is more to do in a day then there is time.  I don’t handle stress as well as I should, and I find myself feeling overwhelmed.

Lately I should be studying or writing or preparing for my play, and I just don’t. I chill instead.  In the back of my mind I know I’m letting the work pile up, and that just makes me feel more stressed which makes me want to chill even longer.  It’s like an endless cycle that keeps making life harder and harder on me.  Worst part is it’s all self-induced, like a person who knows they need to work out and eat healthy, but all they really do is think about it while shoveling super sized number 2 meal from McDonald’s down their throat.

So how do I break this habit?

How do I get my life organized, get motivated and stay on track?

How do I sit down and do what I have to do when I don’t feel like doing it?

And how do you force out creativity when your mind is ready to burst under the pressure?

Worst yet, I think it’s taking a toll on my personal life as well ’cause I am sensing that my girl, Sara, is drifting away.  There has been a few times she has wanted to get together, but I’m either busy working on something or am in the middle of relaxing/procrastinating.  I hope she can understand and it’s not like I don’t make an effort. I try to surprise her with little things to show her that I care…like dropping by with her favorite latte, sending flowers and anything else I can think of to show her how I feel.  I need her now more then ever, but I am noticing my calls are being answered less and less. You know what, I’m going to take her out, just the two of us, I think she deserves that.

Got any suggestions on where I should take her??

It’s gotta be somewhere special! Email me with ideas at prophettherebel@gmail.com.

1 Comment

  1. You know what? I get that way too…its called procrastinating 😛

    What ALWAYS works for me is sitting down and writing out my to-do list, then breaking it down into smaller tasks and tackling those things one by one. Each task you complete makes you feel wicked awesome for doing something, and motivates you to keep moving forward 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

